Infineon / Mitsubishi / Fuji / Semikron / Eupec / IXYS

Smiths provides EMI screening to connector for satellites

Smiths provides EMI screening to connector for satellites

Posted Date: 2023-06-14

Smiths adds EMI screening to connector for satellites

It interfaces between the PCB mounted receptacle and the enclosure panel or bulkhead to minimises the chance {of electrical} interference flowing from exterior sources into the enclosure, and vise versa.

The EMI receptacle has a gold plated aluminium physique that's assembled into the product together with the EMI gasket throughout manufacturing at Smiths, whereas the usual (non-EMI) model will get a composite physique. The EMI gasket may also be purchased individually as a spare.

With the EMI choice, Smiths instructed Electronics Weekly, receptacle-bulkhead shielding effectiveness is -65dB as much as 10GHz. With out, the determine is prone to be ~ -60dB to -40dB.

Smiths adds EMI screening to connector for satellites“NXS connector with EMI Flange is provided with the contact know-how to resist knowledge as much as 50Gbit/s per channel, together with excessive ranges of vibration, shock, and climatic testing above 2,100G. Every ‘quadrax’ module [left] accommodates two twin twinax at 100Ω every pair, and it's blind-mateable, hot-pluggable, with low mating forces and low out-gassing,” in keeping with the corporate.

The NXS receptacle is solder-less, utilizing spring probes mating with gold plated goal pads on the PCB for each differential pair contacts and floor contacts. For reference: 4 module connector (above) is ~30mm lengthy, 12 module connector (beneath) is 60mm lengthy. Connectors with fewer methods can be found.

Smiths adds EMI screening to connector for satellitesConstructed to area requirements, they're certified to requirements together with: ESCC 3401, ESCC 3402, ECSS-Q-ST-70C, ECSS-Q-ST-70-02, ECSS-Q-ST-70-08C, ECSS-Q-ST-70-38C and ECSS-Q-70-71.

Smiths Interconnect has 21 gross sales, R&D and manufacturing areas throughout 12 international locations, together with Canada, US, Mexico, Costa Rica, France, Germany, Italy, UK, Tunisia, India, China and Singapore.